History of Egba National Association

How it all Began

The idea of its formation was initially conceptualized by Egba-Egbado Descendants, Washington DC. An idea that eventually led to its formation on October 20th, 1999, by three associations of Egba and Yewa Descent namely:

  • Egba/Egbado Descendants Association Washington DC
  • Egba Progressive Association, Houston, Texas
  • Egba Unity Club of Chicago.

Attendance at the inaugural meeting hosted in Maryland by Egba-Egbado Descendants Association, Washington DC had Mr. Kofo Akisanya, Durojaiye Johnson, Zac Shodiya, Tunde Odebiyi, Zac Odebo, Tajudeen Adelakun, Babatunde Bankole, Sir Shina Peters (Nigeria) and Mr. Sharaf Omotunwashe. During the meeting, numerous names were suggested for the association which was narrowed down to three (3) namely: Egba-Egbado, Egba-Yewa, & Egba National. Egba National Association eventually received the highest votes; hence, the birth of “EGBA NATIONAL ASSOCIATION USA/CANADA”

Mr. Sharaf Omotunwashe and Mr. Kofo Akisanya were selected as Co-Coordinators and assigned with the task to contact other associations of Egba or Egba/Egbado Descents in USA and Canada for the next meeting, scheduled to be hosted by Egba Progressive Association of Houston, Texas.

At the second meeting, Egba Association of Florida and Egba Association of Dallas/Fort Worth attended. At Houston meeting, interim leadership were selected: Mr. Sharaf Omotunwashe as Chairman, Mr. Jide Bamishigbin as Vice Chairman, Kofo Akisanya as Secretary General and Gbenga Ajayi as Treasurer. Also, constitution drafting committee was setup, chaired by Mr. Lasun Omotunwashe.

At the 3rd meeting, which was hosted by Egba Unity Club of Chicago, Olumo Progressive Association of New York/New Jersey and Egba Descendant Association Minnesota joined the original three. It was at this meeting that the association’s constitution was ratified and adopted.

At the next meeting held in Dallas, the first election was conducted and the following were elected as the first Executive Council, Mr. Sharaf Omotunwashe (Chairman, EPA), Mr. Jide Bamishigbin (Vice Chairman, Miami), Mr. Kofo Akisanya (Secretary General, Philly), Engr. Femi Feyisetan (Asst Sec Gen Dallas), Adisa Olagunle (Financial Secretary, Chicago) Tajudeen Osho (Treasurer, NY/NJ) and Mrs. Modupe Inije (Publicity Secretary, Miami).

Currently, Egba National Association has grown to become a strong 18 chapter members association with chapters spreading across USA and into Canada.